For users with a separate DocSend or Dropbox Sign account, the DocSend Terms of Service can be found here, and the Dropbox Sign Terms of Service can be found here.
Dropbox Terms of Service
Posted: September 1, 2026
Effective: January 1, 2027
You can see your previous Terms here.
Thanks for using Dropbox! Our mission is to create a more enlightened way of working, and help you and those you work with stay coordinated. We do so by providing an intuitive, unified platform and suite of apps and services that keep your content safe, accessible and in sync. These terms of service (“Terms”) cover your use and access to our services, client software and websites ("Services"). If you reside outside of the United States of America, Canada and Mexico (“North America”) your agreement is with Dropbox International Unlimited Company. If you reside in North America your agreement is with Dropbox, Inc. Our Privacy Policy explains how we collect and use your information while our Acceptable Use Policy outlines your responsibilities when using our Services. If you are a member of a paid multi-user team (or a trial of a paid multi-user team) where an admin has control of your account ("Dropbox Team"), your team will also be bound to the Dropbox Services Agreement or another agreement between Dropbox and your team, and you will continue to remain subject to these Terms. By using our Services, you’re agreeing to be bound by these Terms, our Privacy Policy, and Acceptable Use Policy.
Your Accounts
You may need to register for an account to access the Services, and we may create an account for you so that you can interact with the Services.
You may also choose to join or access multiple Dropbox Teams and/or non-Dropbox Team plans, which we may refer to as workspaces, using the same email address. For purposes of these Terms, each Dropbox Team or non-Dropbox Team workspace you join will be considered its own account. Your use of each account will be governed by the respective legal agreement applicable to that account type as set forth above.
Actions taken on one account, including suspension, deletion, termination, or removal from a Dropbox Team, may impact your access to or use of the Services. For example, if your Admin removes you from their team and deletes your account on that team, you may be unable to access your other accounts until you change the email address for those accounts.
Your Stuff & Your Permissions
When you use our Services, you provide us with things like your files, content, messages, contacts, connected services, and so on (“Your Stuff”). Your Stuff is yours. These Terms don’t give us any rights to Your Stuff except for the limited rights that enable us to offer the Services.
Our Services include a suite of apps and websites. To help you stay productive, when you use the same account to access different parts of the suite, Your Stuff may come with you.
We need your permission to do things like hosting Your Stuff, backing it up, and sharing it when you ask us to. Our Services also provide you with features like commenting, sharing, searching, image thumbnails, document previews, optical character recognition (OCR), easy sorting and organization, and personalization to help reduce busywork. To provide these and other features, Dropbox accesses, stores, and scans Your Stuff. You give us permission to do those things, and this permission extends to our affiliates and trusted third parties we work with.
Your Responsibilities
Your use of our Services must comply with our Acceptable Use Policy. Content in the Services may be protected by others’ intellectual property rights. Please don’t copy, upload, download, or share content unless you have the right to do so.